2022 AHHA Healthcare Champion Awards

Congratulations to the 2022 Healthcare Champions! The awards will be presented at the AHHA Annual Conference September 20-21, 2022 at Alyeska Resort in Girdwood.



The AHHA Patient Safety Committee works on behalf of Alaska hospitals and nursing homes to emphasize the importance of high-quality patient care programs, foster a culture of patient safety, and support sustainable improvements in quality and patient safety. The Patient Safety Committee hosts annual AHHA Healthcare Champion Awards to encourage, recognize, and reward individuals and teams taking progressive and effective steps to improve patient care and outcomes.  During these challenging times, taking a moment to acknowledge the great work taking place can be most meaningful.


Facilities may only submit one nomination per category.  If more than one is received, AHHA will contact the facility and request that one nomination be selected to move forward.


To submit a nomination, complete the form below - you will be asked to upload a picture of the individual, team, or project with your response. Please take a moment to review the award categories and examples below prior to submitting your nomination.

Award Categories:

The Golden Stethoscope Award recognizes an advance practice provider or physician who consistently demonstrates their commitment to supporting and/or leading efforts that result in measurable improvements in the delivery of safe patient care.  


  • Active participation/engagement on facility-based patient safety committees.

  • Collaboration with facility personnel in developing protocols and/or care plans that include patient safety measures.

  • Active surveillance and reporting of safety concerns; brings forth suggestions for improvement.

  • Willingness to educate/reinforce messages regarding patient safety with employees, patients, family, and community members as needed.

  • Serves as a role model and example for other providers to follow, such as holding “crucial conversations” with peers as needed.

  • Consistently demonstrates the principles of high reliability.


Front-Line Staff Outstanding Performance Award recognizes an individual or team at a hospital or long-term care facility that has demonstrated above-and-beyond safety related performance in the workplace. The nomination may describe a system or process improvement, or noteworthy front-line staff performance of safety practices.


  • Volunteering to take on additional patient safety project(s).

  • Teambuilding activities that empower and encourage others, resulting in increased patient safety.

  • Front-line staff ingenuity that solves organizational level challenges. 

  • Engagement in lean projects focused on patient safety issues.

  • Development, implementation, and spread of an effective process to decrease workplace violence.

  • The nominee has been instrumental in the implementation of a major process improvement measure around high reliability.

  • Helping other staff improve workspace and environment.


The Innovation in Transformation of Patient Safety and Quality, High Reliability Award recognizes hospitals and/or long-term care facilities that have developed and addressed patient family engagement or implemented innovative patient safety and/or a quality process, project, or program, with measurably improved outcomes and/or have hardwired in a quality processes, project, or program, resulting in consistent high reliability in reduction of patient harm.  As well, projects will be considered that have improved patient safety/high reliability through addressing social determinants of health / health equity. 


  • Engaging patients and families to improve outcomes.

  • Eliminating bed alarms by substituting other best practices.

  • Electronic health record utilization for effective change.

  • Care transition practices linking hospitals and nursing homes.

  • Systematic reductions in harm resulting from initiation of clinical bundles.

  • Implementing coordinated strategies that impact work across different sectors helping communities with social, economic, and environmental barriers that lead to poor health outcomes and health disparities.

  • Patient care strategies which rely on data about patients’ social risks to adapt medical care or improve patients’ social circumstances directly.