top of page

2021 Quality & Patient Safety Awards

ASHNHA is proud to announce the recipients of the 2021 Quality & Patient Safety Awards. During the pandemic, Alaska’s health care providers have worked through incredibly challenging circumstances to continue to deliver high-quality patient care programs and

support sustainable improvements in quality and patient safety. ASHNHA’s annual Quality & Patient Safety awards honor health care workers across the state. This year, the recognition comes at a critical time as health care professionals work long and demanding shifts to battle rising COVID cases and are forced to make incredibly difficult decisions as hospitalizations escalate and capacity is strained.

Congratulations to all of this year's Healthcare Champions! Thank you to Providence health & Services Alaska for sponsoring this year's awards.

2021 AWARDEES Click on the links below to learn more about each awardee

Innovation in Transformation of Patient Safety- High Reliability Award:

Golden Stethoscope Award:

  • Dr. Karen Mailer, MD, CMD Medical Director - Providence Transitional Care Center & Providence Extended Care (Anchorage) Awarded the Golden Stethoscope for above-and-beyond ingenuity, improving lives and workforce well-being, while enhancing safety through patient and family engagement.

  • Dr. Michael R. Burton, MD Medical Director, Emergency Department - Fairbanks Memorial Hospital (Fairbanks) Awarded the Golden Stethoscope for twenty years of dedication and implementation of hospital-wide initiatives leading to measurable improvements in quality and patient safety.

Front-Line Staff Award:

Beacon Award:

155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page